I need some advice on Entry-Level Custom Keyboard Kits

Hey everyone,

I am new in mechanical keyboards, and I’m feeling a little lost! I’m thinking about building my first custom one, but I’m a total newbie. Any recommendations on beginner-friendly kits? Ideally, I’d like something that’s easy to put together but still feels amazing to type on.

Here’s what I’m hoping for:

A keyboard with a TKL or 75% layout (those are the ones with the function keys but a bit more compact).
Hot-swappable switches! I’m still figuring out which type I like best, so being able to try different ones is a big plus.
Bonus points for some aesthetic options – RGB lighting would be cool, but it’s not a dealbreaker.
I’ve been checking out some stuff online, like the GMMK Pro and the Keychron Q1. Those seem interesting, but I’m definitely open to other ideas! On top of that, if anyone has any advice on good switch and keycap options for a beginner, I’d be eternally grateful.

Thanks a bunch in advance for the help!

2 Likes

Take a look at the Neo or QK boards. They are very well reputed. I just built a QK100 for a friend, and it’s a great value.

Consider Luminkey as well. I don’t have personal experience, but they seem like good “getting into the hobby” keyboards without a lot of compromises.

4 Likes